They Have it so Much Better Than I do

20131006-112605.jpg

Make a careful exploration of who you are and the work you have been given, and then sink yourself into that. Don’t be impressed with yourself. Don’t compare yourself with others. Each of you must take responsibility for doing the creative best you can with your own life. – Galatians 6:4-5

It’s not about what everyone else has. It’s not about how much “holier” they are than you. It’s not about how much more accomplished they are. It’s not about how much happier their marriage is. It’s not about how their kids are better behaved than yours. It’s not about how they still have a job and you don’t. It’s not about how they’re healthy and you’re not.

It’s really not about them at all. It’s about you, Him, and the work He’s called you to do.

If we are focused on our relationship with Him, we won’t find the need to compare ourself, or our life, with anyone else’s.

Where’s your focus today?

8 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve missed you Sarah and this one was very well received (the key word the Holy Spirit gave me for this season is ‘focus’). What you wrote is so true! How these truths help us actually maintain our focus on what God has called us to do is beyond meaningful. It’s so easy to get lost in comparison and it truly does steal our joy so thank you!

    ~ ~ ~ ~
    Okay, on another note 🙂 you’ve been on my mind A LOT today. 1st my church did a beautiful job singing “Let me be singing when the evening comes” at service this morning–guess who came right to mind? My heart is so grateful to God for you; the things you write/share stay with me and are greatly appreciated. You are a bona fide (encourager).

    The other reason is this. I have been eagerly awaiting this day when JourneyofJoy finally publishes your guest post and guess what?! The time is here/THAT time is now…. Without writing a book on your blog (and please feel free to remove all these extra notes below the line btw), just thought I’d send you a quick note to let you know the beautiful anointed blog you wrote is now up. Please feel free to write something on your page to direct your readers to your guest post. Also just a note to keep checking in for any comments your readers may leave you for your kind response 🙂

    So glad God allowed our paths to cross!

    Love you to pieces,
    Marlene

    Reply

    • Oh I wish I could’ve been there with you to hear the song in worship today! I’m thankful for your friendship, encouragement, and prayers. They lift me up more than you know. As for the guest post..I’m still in the shock and awe stage that you would want me to guest post. It’s an honor, and I pray it helps someone out there in blogville. I don’t know how to delete portions of comments, so I will keep all of your comment! My love and prayers to you always. ((Hugs))

      Reply

  2. Love this! This is the second time I have heard, “Don’t compare yourself with others” this week. Applies to me too. Thank you!

    Reply

  3. This is a theme that us Christians need a constant reminder of! We all tend to struggle with it, dont we 🙂

    Reply

  4. The moment we begin to make comparisons we can be assured of one thing – we will be discontent. There will always be people who seem to have what we want and have an easier time in life. However, God has a plan for our lives and we need to stay focused on following Him. Great post! Be blessed today and bless someone else!

    Reply

Thoughts? I'd love to hear them. :)

Sailing On Dry Land

Seriously Offgrid on a Shoestring

infinite photography

by michael quintana

The World Can Wait

Musings on life, faith, love, family, Chronic Lyme disease and everything in between.

Betty's Verse Of The DAY

Into His Arms I Fall

Obedience to God

Is Better than Sacrifice

Prayers and Promises

Rebuilding Lives - One Hope at a Time

live the victory

tackling daily challenges and laughing about the small stuff

Grace of the Cross

Just a twentysomething guy who is a follower of Christ

Phillybookpick's Blog

GREAT BOOK PICKS -In the World of page turning thrillers !

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

adjustedsails

You Can't Direct the Wind, But You Can Adjust Your Sails

Sweet Tea & God's Graces

Just a glimpse of my crazy, messy, awful, beautiful life.

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

God's Wisdom Lent To An Unorganized Mind

Wisdom, reflections, growth - all from God with me as the instrument.

Graphically Speaking... Thoughts

Inspiring and Encouraging Words For Life

Awakening Hearts Foundation

A journey toward starting a nonprofit dedicated to helping first time families

Smile Side Up ^^

Who has time to frown when there are a million reasons to smile....

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

JacobAirey.Blog

Welcome to my independent blog. I cover all kinds of topics including: faith, politics, pop culture, and so much more.

