Matt, Uncle Tim, and Little ol’ Me!

20130812-194537.jpg

Hi, friends!

My brother, Matt, has been in the hospital again. Over a week so far this time. It turns out the duct (I think that’s what it’s called) between his gallbladder and pancreas is much smaller than its supposed to be, so they took care of that. But then that caused the pancreatitis to worsen, which isn’t unusual..but not what his body needed! The lipase count skyrocketed back up to 2400, and the pain was no good!

So..then they decided after a few days that it was time to remove the gallbladder and hope it would help/remedy the problem. That brings us to yesterday, surgery day! They removed the gallbladder, he made it through surgery fine, and as always, had a good attitude/outlook.

I checked in with him earlier today to see how he was feeling and he said he was doing great! He said the lipase count was down to 399! What?! 399?!? Wow!!! I don’t think it’s been that low since this whole thing hit his system back in May. Of course the goal is to still get it down much lower. But 399 was AWESOME NEWS!!! He says the pain is less now. Of course, he has the pain from the gallbladder removal surgery, but I’m sure that’s a cakewalk compared to the other pain he’s had. He will try food in a few days.

I’m not sure when he will get to leave the hospital, but his wife and son are sure ready for him to be HOME. So lets pray he keeps improving and gets to go home very soon.

I am so excited to be able to give you all, my fellow prayer warriors, this wonderful update! Thanks very much for continuing to pray for him, I appreciate you all more than I could ever express.

Another update..this time on me and my “dirty mouth”! (Anyone else think of the Orbit commercial when I said that? Haha) Im doing sooo well! I think I told you I’ve slipped a few times, but the improvement is awesome. I don’t even think swear words anymore! When I see them at random times online, my spirit cringes a bit. So thank you for your prayers on that.

They were able to transfer Uncle Tim back to a Portland hospital, but last we heard he was still in a coma. The update today said that today was “the big day” for him and to be thinking of/praying for him..but none of us knew what that meant. We hope to get a real update soon.

Whatever you’re dealing with today, whether spiritual, physical, or otherwise, know that my prayers are with you. Keep praising Him in advance – it may not come today, it may not even come next week – but, believe me, breakthrough is on the way, friends!

Blessings to you and yours,

Sarah

But those who wait upon God get fresh strength. They spread their wings and soar like eagles, they run and donโ€™t get tired, they walk and donโ€™t lag behind. -Isaiah 40:31

**8/13/13 UPDATE: Matt’s lipase count was finally in “normal range” today at 150!! He is getting ready to *drum roll please* EAT! Lets pray his body likes the food. ๐Ÿ™‚

13 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by graceofthecross on August 12, 2013 at 8:09 pm

    I still am working on my “dirty mouth”. At least I have started to change the ending of the word to something absolutely ridiculous.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Redneck Garage on August 12, 2013 at 8:45 pm

    Sarah, When you start cringing, that is a very good sign of the progress you have made! You will no doubt backslide but that is part of God’s molding process. Thanks for the encouraging update on you brother. Will keep praying for your whole family especially your uncle. Patrick

    Reply

  3. Posted by optimisticgladness on August 12, 2013 at 8:49 pm

    Glad to hear this good news. Thank you for the update. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  4. Congrats Orbit! hehe ๐Ÿ˜€ The Holy Spirit works in you to do His will. I agree with the cringing – last week I had a “lady” comment on one of my anti-abortion posts with the F word and I was like “UGH! Get away!” LOL
    Glad to hear the good news of your brother! Blessings xx

    Reply

  5. Thanks for these words of encouragement– “it may not come today, it may not even come next week โ€“ but, believe me, breakthrough is on the way, friends!” Needed that. Praying for your needs, too.

    Reply

  6. What a great post and a great PRAISE report Sarah! I’m SO happy to hear Matt is improving at 2-degree turns, moment-by-moment! He is blessed to have a sister like you. Praying for his wholeness along with Uncle Tim’s. As for you Orbit, I am absolutely proud of you!!! Why stay the same when we can grow?

    I love you!!

    Marlene

    Reply

Thoughts? I'd love to hear them. :)

Sailing On Dry Land

Seriously Offgrid on a Shoestring

infinite photography

by michael quintana

The World Can Wait

Musings on life, faith, love, family, Chronic Lyme disease and everything in between.

Betty's Verse Of The DAY

Into His Arms I Fall

Obedience to God

Is Better than Sacrifice

Prayers and Promises

Rebuilding Lives - One Hope at a Time

live the victory

tackling daily challenges and laughing about the small stuff

Grace of the Cross

Just a twentysomething guy who is a follower of Christ

Phillybookpick's Blog

GREAT BOOK PICKS -In the World of page turning thrillers !

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

adjustedsails

You Can't Direct the Wind, But You Can Adjust Your Sails

Sweet Tea & God's Graces

Just a glimpse of my crazy, messy, awful, beautiful life.

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

God's Wisdom Lent To An Unorganized Mind

Wisdom, reflections, growth - all from God with me as the instrument.

Graphically Speaking... Thoughts

Inspiring and Encouraging Words For Life

Awakening Hearts Foundation

A journey toward starting a nonprofit dedicated to helping first time families

Smile Side Up ^^

Who has time to frown when there are a million reasons to smile....

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

JacobAirey.Blog

Welcome to my independent blog. I cover all kinds of topics including: faith, politics, pop culture, and so much more.

