It Is Well With My Soul

20130730-233027.jpg

This is one of my most favorite quotes of all time. I think you will find it encouraging!

“It is in the quiet crucible of your personal, private sufferings that your noblest dreams are born and God’s greatest gifts are given, in compensation for what you’ve been through.”
– Wintley Phipps

Blessings,

Sarah

* If you would like to see Mr. Phipp’s video where this quote’s from, click here. It will knock your socks off. His voice is out of this world, friends! I find myself forgetting to breath, and my eyes welling up with tears, whenever I hear him sing.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Redneck Garage on July 31, 2013 at 9:30 am

    Great quote…It really made me stop and think. Then I read it several more times. I found the choice of the words “quiet crucible” to be interesting.

    The crucible for silver and the furnace for gold, but the Lord tests the heart.
    -Proverbs 17:3

    The crucible for silver and the furnace for gold, but people are tested by their praise.
    -Proverbs 27:21

    The crucible is used for refining metals. The metals are raised above their melting point and all the impurities, or dross, rise to the surface and are removed.

    Son of man, the people of Israel have become dross to me; all of them are the copper, tin, iron and lead left inside a furnace. They are but the dross of silver.
    -Ezekiel 22:18

    In the case of purifying silver, the copper, tin and iron are the impurities from the ore from which it came. Even on a small scale, the purifying of metal in a crucible by flame is anything but quiet. On a large scale, as in adding 75 tons of scrap steel to an electric arc furnace, it is deafening.

    During our private suffering, I see that our quiet crucible would be those internal struggles that tests and strengthens our faith and help us to see what is important (silver) and what is not (dross).

    Reply

    • Awesome research, friend! Thank you SO much for taking the time to share that with me. You just took me to a whole new level of understanding on the word crucible. Your findings reminded me of this story: http://www.yourcross.org/refinersfirestory.htm

      Reply

    • PS – That video you shared was AMAZING. Someone should use that in a sermon!

      Reply

      • Posted by Redneck Garage on July 31, 2013 at 3:19 pm

        You’re welcome. The quote you shared started the thinking process which just poured out in words. I enjoyed reading the Refiners Fire Story.

        BTW – The temperature inside the furnace above is around 3200 degrees F (~1800 degrees C). The sudden flash and explosion at the end happens when the electrodes (90 MW at 34,500 volts in this case) are lowered into the furnace and come in contact with the 75 tons of scrap steel that was added to the molten steel already inside the crucible.

        When people are told that becoming a Christian will solve their problems, they are not being told the truth. It is the start of a life long process to prepare them for eternal life…and sometimes it just ain’t easy and the fire gets hot.

      • Yes, it solves all of our problems in an eternal aspect, but while here on earth He downright promised there WILL be trouble! I’m so grateful for the promise of Heaven. These feet were meant to walk Streets of Gold! 🙂

        3200 degrees..yowza! Now THAT’S some refining! Well one thing is for sure..even though the fire gets h-o-t, HOT, there’s nowhere I’d rather be than in the loving care of the Refiner. If I’m not being refined in one way or another until Jesus comes for us, then I’m wasting my life.

      • Posted by Redneck Garage on July 31, 2013 at 3:39 pm

        Amen

  2. Awesome quote and video!

    Reply

  3. Oh my goodness! How rich. And what great input there from Patrick!! I just learned SO much from this one post/comment. Explains a lot of “my pain points” 🙂

    Reply

Thoughts? I'd love to hear them. :)

Sailing On Dry Land

Seriously Offgrid on a Shoestring

infinite photography

by michael quintana

The World Can Wait

Musings on life, faith, love, family, Chronic Lyme disease and everything in between.

Betty's Verse Of The DAY

Into His Arms I Fall

Obedience to God

Is Better than Sacrifice

Prayers and Promises

Rebuilding Lives - One Hope at a Time

live the victory

tackling daily challenges and laughing about the small stuff

Grace of the Cross

Just a twentysomething guy who is a follower of Christ

Phillybookpick's Blog

GREAT BOOK PICKS -In the World of page turning thrillers !

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

adjustedsails

You Can't Direct the Wind, But You Can Adjust Your Sails

Sweet Tea & God's Graces

Just a glimpse of my crazy, messy, awful, beautiful life.

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

God's Wisdom Lent To An Unorganized Mind

Wisdom, reflections, growth - all from God with me as the instrument.

Graphically Speaking... Thoughts

Inspiring and Encouraging Words For Life

Awakening Hearts Foundation

A journey toward starting a nonprofit dedicated to helping first time families

Smile Side Up ^^

Who has time to frown when there are a million reasons to smile....

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

JacobAirey.Blog

Welcome to my independent blog. I cover all kinds of topics including: faith, politics, pop culture, and so much more.

