Pursuing The Ways Of The Kingdom

20130724-095745.jpg

As you know, I quit swearing a few days back. So far it’s going well! I must admit, I imagined quitting swearing would be cut and dry like everything else I quit. I am an all or nothing type person. I’m not a dabbler. So, you can imagine my frustration over the handful of times I’ve I slipped and sworn. But, I have to be thankful for the improvement. Usually even if I don’t swear out loud, I still think the words in my head. But yesterday, I noticed I hadn’t been thinking the words either! So I’m making progress. It’s really huge progress, but with my all or nothing mentality, I have to fight off feelings of total failure when even just one word slips (another thing I’m working on!). Anyway, that’s the update there! And it fits in with today’s overall thought…ridding ourselves of things that don’t benefit the kingdom.

Have you ever witnessed someone trying to be compassionate and caring, but it’s clear there is underlying judgement or anger beneath the compassion? I know I’ve experienced it, and I know that – at times – I’ve also been that person.

These verses remind me that we need to get rid of the anger, bitterness, etc., and instead FULLY embrace forgiveness, kindness, and compassion. It’s a black and white issue. All or nothing.

The first person we need to be forgiving, kind, and compassionate to is ourselves. If we can’t feel these things for ourselves, we can’t possibly hope to be genuine in these things towards others.

Bottom line: If Christ felt you were good enough to die for, and save, you are. So stop implying He is wrong by hating yourself. Give yourself the gift of grace. Your a wonderful human being, start acting like it! And before you know it, you’ll see you are treating others better as well.

I couldn’t decide which version I liked best, so I’m giving you my top 3 faves. 🙂

Ephesians 4:31-32
The Voice (VOICE)
31 Banish bitterness, rage and anger, shouting and slander, and any and all malicious thoughts—these are poison. 32 Instead, be kind and compassionate. Graciously forgive one another just as God has forgiven you through the Anointed, our Liberating King.

Ephesians 4:31-32
New King James Version (NKJV)
31 Let all bitterness, wrath, anger, clamor, and evil speaking be put away from you, with all malice. 32 And be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God in Christ forgave you.

Ephesians 4:31-32
Amplified Bible (AMP)
31 Let all bitterness and indignation and wrath (passion, rage, bad temper) and resentment (anger, animosity) and quarreling (brawling, clamor, contention) and slander (evil-speaking, abusive or blasphemous language) be banished from you, with all malice (spite, ill will, or baseness of any kind).
32 And become useful and helpful and kind to one another, tenderhearted (compassionate, understanding, loving-hearted), forgiving one another [readily and freely], as God in Christ forgave you.

Make it a fantastic day – be genuinely kind!

– Sarah

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Redneck Garage on July 24, 2013 at 1:36 pm

    Congratulations on the progress you have made on changing your vocabulary. But it is not so much the words we use but the attitude behind the words (which you post talks about). Sometimes people will replace a vulgar word(s), we can use “crap” as our example (thanks to Mr. John Crapper), with a nicer word(s), let’s say “human excrement”, but if the attitude behind the word(s) remains the same we really have not changed. I know this to be true because I have been going through this process for 32 years and counting. We need to allow God to remold our thinking and attitude. Quite a challenge you have taken on. You are not alone.

    I really like the quote from Mother Teresa.

    Reply

    • Couldn’t have said it better myself! Thanks so much for the encouragement, I really appreciate it. As Joyce Meyer says, “I may not be where I need to be, but thank God I’m not where I used to be!”

      Reply

  2. Posted by inspireddaybyday on July 24, 2013 at 3:35 pm

    Fantastic Sarah!

    Reply

  3. That is my besetting sin! God’s been working on this mouth of mine! I will join you in this quest….!

    Reply

  4. Can I be honest? It never occurred to me that a Christian would ever have a problem with swearing.(DON’T QUIT READING!) But I’ve had my eyes opened. Why it never occurred to me before is anyone’s guess. Probably it’s that no one I hang out with swears,whether Christian or not. But, let’s face it, we all struggle with something. I may not swear, but I certainly has issues in other areas. So thank you for your honesty and God bless you and give you the victory.

    Reply

    • Yes, you can always be honest here! And that was one of the reasons I wanted to share my struggle. I think a lot of Christians struggle with things they don’t share for fear of being rejected. But, the response to this post is proof that even if we struggle with something outside of the normal “gossip” or “lying”, we can still be loved and accepted. I truly appreciate your honesty, and your encouragement! I’m making great improvements, and haven’t sworn at all in a day or two now. Yay!

      Reply

Thoughts? I'd love to hear them. :)

Sailing On Dry Land

Seriously Offgrid on a Shoestring

infinite photography

by michael quintana

The World Can Wait

Musings on life, faith, love, family, Chronic Lyme disease and everything in between.

Betty's Verse Of The DAY

Into His Arms I Fall

Obedience to God

Is Better than Sacrifice

Prayers and Promises

Rebuilding Lives - One Hope at a Time

live the victory

tackling daily challenges and laughing about the small stuff

Grace of the Cross

Just a twentysomething guy who is a follower of Christ

Phillybookpick's Blog

GREAT BOOK PICKS -In the World of page turning thrillers !

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

adjustedsails

You Can't Direct the Wind, But You Can Adjust Your Sails

Sweet Tea & God's Graces

Just a glimpse of my crazy, messy, awful, beautiful life.

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

God's Wisdom Lent To An Unorganized Mind

Wisdom, reflections, growth - all from God with me as the instrument.

Graphically Speaking... Thoughts

Inspiring and Encouraging Words For Life

Awakening Hearts Foundation

A journey toward starting a nonprofit dedicated to helping first time families

Smile Side Up ^^

Who has time to frown when there are a million reasons to smile....

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

JacobAirey.Blog

Welcome to my independent blog. I cover all kinds of topics including: faith, politics, pop culture, and so much more.

