What the &@$%!!

20130718-154033.jpg

Sometimes even I can’t believe the words that come from my mouth. I’ve been known to say, “Wow, I offended myself with that one.” I’ve always been a much better writer than a speaker, as far as speaking of Christ. Most would say it’s because with writing you have time to think. But that’s not the case for me. If I’m writing, I’m usually NOT thinking..it’s just my feelings overflowing onto paper. Granted, there is the wonderful “DELETE” button available! πŸ˜‰

Anyway, one of my biggest mouth issues is swearing. I swear like a trucker at times, not around my kids of course, actually I only swear around those I know also swear as not to be offensive to those who dont. I can’t say that I feel bad when I do, or feel that I’ve done wrong. I don’t. I’ve long felt that its a great way of expressing one’s feelings. I know, many of you are like uhhh, Sarah, you’re whacked out of your mind. Swearing shows ignorance. But, I’m not trying to justify my swearing, I’m just sharing with you my feelings on it. Now, there are times I hear people swearing and it offends me. There are movies I will turn off due to swearing. I think just like anything, context and tone of voice greatly affect the words spoken.

Guard your tongue from profanity, and no more lying through your teeth. (Psalm 34:13 MSG)

Looking at that scripture, I have to wonder…what exactly is profanity? I don’t think it’s just swearing. So I just did a Dictionary.com search. It says that profanity is a vulgar or irreverent action or speech. Ok, so then swearing isn’t the only profanity that could be demonstrated by a person..far from it.

That being said, how one interprets another’s words or actions is also important.

And if someone walking by hears me swearing, and also just happens to see the cross on my neck, and also just happens to feel that swearing in itself is vulgar..then I can’t say, in good conscience, that my words were harmless. So, although I may not see MY swearing as vulgar, it becomes vulgar because of their interpretation, and as a result, reflects poorly on my Savior. I would never want that. I want to be a shining example of Him.

Soooo…I’ve decided that I will stop swearing. Not out of guilt or shame, but because I would never want to misrepresent my Jesus. I want to do and say things that bring Him glory and honor. So, here I go..embarking on a new journey of growth. πŸ™‚

What habit(s) do you have that you need to let go of?

Blessings,

Sarah

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Redneck Garage on July 18, 2013 at 6:53 pm

    I took on this very challenge 30 some odd years ago before I became a Christian. I did it because I felt there were better ways, and words, to express one’s emotions or thoughts. But I have to admit that there are times when vulgar or offensive words fit the situation. Fun Fact about Indoor Plumbing. Crap has evolved from its original term. John Crapper invented what is now know as the toilet or loo. It all has to do with the siphon that removes what is deposited in the bowl and transferred into the sanitary sewer. Originally his invention was known as The Crapper which lead to how the word crap is used today.

    Reply

  2. Proud of you for making another step toward growth. I have been long looking to blog on swearing/cursing. Glad to know you do it. I’m one of the ones who it does not sit right with. Even though the mind might want to go there @ times; I find it very hard to comfortably use these words. For 2 reasons a) If I can’t say it in the presence of Jesus, I have no business saying it. b) profanity really means something unfit for a holy place.

    My convictions group profanity in the same pile with (gossip, slander, criticism, complaining, deceit, verbosity) all unfit for a holy place (the temple of the Holy Spirt). I don’t know, it’s so black & white to me… Do not let any unwholesome words come out of your mouth, but only what is “fitting/building/edifying”.

    Finally, where I’m I challenged? WORDS. I tend to be many people’s sounding board. At times their “stories/concerns” lead right down a path I dislike. I’ve found myself pulling back from people who easily open me up to gossip/criticism. There are people I’d talk to frequently then find myself repenting A LOT; “I said too much” or “I allowed the convo to go where I know it shouldn’t have”. Didn’t unfriend. Just took a few steps back. That’s my challenge Sarita… I have been pressing to grow in this area for a rrrreally long time, and continue to do so.

    Thanks for a good post!

    Marlene

    Reply

    • Thanks for the encouragement, and for sharing your struggles as well. I too have struggled with you in that area. I’m afraid we’re all human and subject to a slip here and then! But what matters is that we never cease to strive towards improvement. πŸ™‚

      My love and prayers to you and yours! I will look forward to your blog on the topic if vulgarity, should you decide to pursue it. ((Hugs))

      Reply

  3. I’m the same 😦

    Reply

Thoughts? I'd love to hear them. :)

Sailing On Dry Land

Seriously Offgrid on a Shoestring

infinite photography

by michael quintana

The World Can Wait

Musings on life, faith, love, family, Chronic Lyme disease and everything in between.

Betty's Verse Of The DAY

Into His Arms I Fall

Obedience to God

Is Better than Sacrifice

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

live the victory

tackling daily challenges and laughing about the small stuff

Grace of the Cross

Just a twentysomething guy who is a follower of Christ

Phillybookpick's Blog

GREAT BOOK PICKS -In the World of page turning thrillers !

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

adjustedsails

You Can't Direct the Wind, But You Can Adjust Your Sails

Sweet Tea & God's Graces

Just a glimpse of my crazy, messy, awful, beautiful life.

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

God's Wisdom Lent To An Unorganized Mind

Wisdom, reflections, growth - all from God with me as the instrument.

Graphically Speaking... Thoughts

Inspiring and Encouraging Words For Life

Awakening Hearts Foundation

A journey toward starting a nonprofit dedicated to helping first time families

Smile Side Up ^^

Who has time to frown when there are a million reasons to smile....

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

JacobAirey.Blog

Welcome to my independent blog. I cover all kinds of topics including: faith, politics, pop culture, and so much more.

