Mustard Seeds Have Great Value!

20130624-085312.jpg

It so upsets me when I hear, “Well, they weren’t healed because they didn’t have enough faith.” Or, “Well, if they would’ve had more faith, the situation would have changed.” My question to all of those comments is, what about the power in the mustard seed of faith?

“..I tell you this: if you had even a faint spark of faith, even faith as tiny as a mustard seed, you could say to this mountain, “Move from here to there,” and because of your faith, the mountain would move. If you had just a sliver of faith, you would find nothing impossible.” – Matthew 17:20

The Lord I know doesn’t demand our faith to be perfect before He arrives on the scene. The Lord I know says to come to him with child like faith. Now I know we usually take that as face value..little kids have faith because, in general, they’ve never had a reason not to. But, is that the whole story here?

Have you ever seen a child’s faith level?

The best part about a child’s faith is that it’s raw and honest in how frail it is. On one hand a child will have total faith that as long as they’re holding your hand, they are safe from getting hurt crossing the road. But put a child on a bike with no training wheels for the first time, and that faith has instantly dwindled to but a mustard seed. You’re saying, “I won’t let go of the bike until you’re ready, I promise!” And the child is screaming, “Don’t let go, I JUST KNOW YOU’RE GONNA LET GOOOO!!! I’m gonna fall! I’m gonna get hurt! I can’t do this!” Yet, again, they do have a mustard seed of faith in that situation. Because they believe that as long as you are holding onto that bike, they will be ok.

He’s not asking for perfection, he’s asking for authenticity. He meets us where we are at. That means when our faith is tiny like a mustard seed, He is with us. And when our faith is so huge that it rushes like a mighty wind, He’s there too!

Don’t doubt the Holy Spirit power inside of you. As you begin to stretch and plump up your faith muscle, you’ll notice less of the mustard seed days, and more of the mighty wind of faith days. Regardless, you can move mountains! So get out there and start moving things!

Have a beautiful day!

You are blessed,

Sarah

PS – Below is a devotional entry from Pastor Prince that I found very refreshing. Enjoy!

—-

Done As You Have Believed
By Joseph Prince

Matthew 8:13
13Then Jesus said to the centurion, “Go your way; and as you have believed, so let it be done for you.” And his servant was healed that same hour.

What are you expecting God to do for you today? Do you believe that God will respond according to your expectation? When Jairus, distraught at the sickness that was claiming his daughter’s life, fell at Jesus’ feet, he entreated Jesus to personally come to his house to lay His hands on his daughter so that she would be healed. (Mark 5:23)

But do you know that Jesus can heal at a distance? He didn’t need to go to Jairus’ house to heal his daughter. Still, Jesus went and didn’t even chide Jairus for his little faith. He met Jairus’ expectation — his little daughter was raised from the dead that day. (Mark 5:41–42)

Why do I say that Jairus had little faith? Because there was a Roman centurion who came to Jesus about his servant suffering at home. He recognized the power Jesus had and asked only that Jesus “speak a word, and my servant will be healed”. (Matthew 8:8) Jesus told him, “Go your way; and as you have believed, so let it be done for you.” True to the centurion’s expectation, his servant was healed that same hour.

My friend, there is no particular level your faith must reach before God gives you what you are asking for. Your faith does not initiate God’s giving. He has already given to you all things that pertain to life and godliness. (2 Peter 1:3) His blessings are pressing on you already! Regardless of the level of faith you are at, He will respond. Jairus needed Jesus to go to his house to lay His hands on his daughter, and Jesus did. The centurion only needed Jesus to speak a word for his servant to be healed, and Jesus did. He met both their expectations.

My friend, don’t fix your eyes on how much or how little faith you have. Fix your eyes on the One who loves you, who has already given you what you need. When you come to Him, simply believe that He is waiting to meet your expectation. He will say to you, “Go your way; and as you have believed, so let it be done for you.”

4 responses to this post.

  1. Our sermon yesterday also dealt with the parable of the “Mustard Seed.” The big take away (for me anyway!) was to not get overwhelmed with trying to be perfect. As our pastor put it, “Just make the choice to do the NEXT right thing”. That was very reassuring to me. I don’t have to place these expectations on myself that I must do EVERYTHING right. I know I will fall and I know it is a tough road to follow Christ, but if I focus on just doing the next right thing, the road does not look as difficult. I enjoy the blog…keep it up!

    Reply

  2. No…Thank you for sharing! Have a great day!

    Reply

  3. Reblogged this on Eagle Eye Network.

    Reply

Thoughts? I'd love to hear them. :)

Sailing On Dry Land

Seriously Offgrid on a Shoestring

infinite photography

by michael quintana

The World Can Wait

Musings on life, faith, love, family, Chronic Lyme disease and everything in between.

Betty's Verse Of The DAY

Into His Arms I Fall

Obedience to God

Is Better than Sacrifice

Prayers and Promises

Rebuilding Lives - One Hope at a Time

live the victory

tackling daily challenges and laughing about the small stuff

Grace of the Cross

Just a twentysomething guy who is a follower of Christ

Phillybookpick's Blog

GREAT BOOK PICKS -In the World of page turning thrillers !

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

adjustedsails

You Can't Direct the Wind, But You Can Adjust Your Sails

Sweet Tea & God's Graces

Just a glimpse of my crazy, messy, awful, beautiful life.

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

God's Wisdom Lent To An Unorganized Mind

Wisdom, reflections, growth - all from God with me as the instrument.

Graphically Speaking... Thoughts

Inspiring and Encouraging Words For Life

Awakening Hearts Foundation

A journey toward starting a nonprofit dedicated to helping first time families

Smile Side Up ^^

Who has time to frown when there are a million reasons to smile....

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

JacobAirey.Blog

Welcome to my independent blog. I cover all kinds of topics including: faith, politics, pop culture, and so much more.

