My Team’s Gonna Win, Your Team SUCKS!

20130611-230339.jpg

We’ve got a friendly rivalry going on in our house. It’s NBA Finals time, and it’s between The San Antonio Spurs and The Miami Heat. My husband is going for the Heat. I’m going for the Spurs. I figure if you don’t have a team you’ve loved since forever..that you should choose a team from a state in which you’ve actually lived. Well, we were blessed to live in the beautiful state of Texas for 2 years, so I am rooting for Texas! I would’ve preferred the Houston Rockets, but that wasn’t meant to be. So Spurs it is! And…drum roll please…”we” won tonight! So sad for my hubby that his team lost. 😉

I tell you that little story because it brings to my mind how we behave when we don’t see eye to eye with someone. Whether it be a basketball game, or politics, or life in general. Are we able to value the person regardless of their views? Or do we automatically discount their worth because their views don’t match ours?

I hope that we can love others, and value their thoughts, likes, and dislikes, even when they are completely opposite of our own. Why? Because everyone deserves that. Our differences make the world a beautiful kaleidoscope. We don’t have to agree with someone in order to show them love and respect. Now I don’t agree with my husband that the Heat is going to win, but I can value his doomed opinion that they will win. 😉

I suppose it all goes back to the Golden Rule:

“So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you..”
Matthew 7:12a

Think about that today as you encounter different people, and their views. Make a conscious effort to see beyond the difference and into the heart. You might find that you actually have a lot in common!

You are blessed,

Sarah

3 responses to this post.

  1. When we’re mired in a passionate position about something God does not take issue with, majoring in the minors, it’s time to look deeply inside. One will likely find idolatry there.

    Reply

Thoughts? I'd love to hear them. :)

Sailing On Dry Land

Seriously Offgrid on a Shoestring

infinite photography

by michael quintana

The World Can Wait

Musings on life, faith, love, family, Chronic Lyme disease and everything in between.

Betty's Verse Of The DAY

Into His Arms I Fall

Obedience to God

Is Better than Sacrifice

Prayers and Promises

Rebuilding Lives - One Hope at a Time

live the victory

tackling daily challenges and laughing about the small stuff

Grace of the Cross

Just a twentysomething guy who is a follower of Christ

Phillybookpick's Blog

GREAT BOOK PICKS -In the World of page turning thrillers !

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

adjustedsails

You Can't Direct the Wind, But You Can Adjust Your Sails

Sweet Tea & God's Graces

Just a glimpse of my crazy, messy, awful, beautiful life.

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

God's Wisdom Lent To An Unorganized Mind

Wisdom, reflections, growth - all from God with me as the instrument.

Graphically Speaking... Thoughts

Inspiring and Encouraging Words For Life

Awakening Hearts Foundation

A journey toward starting a nonprofit dedicated to helping first time families

Smile Side Up ^^

Who has time to frown when there are a million reasons to smile....

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

JacobAirey.Blog

Welcome to my independent blog. I cover all kinds of topics including: faith, politics, pop culture, and so much more.

