Tired but Soaring

20130610-202006.jpg
*photo credit: http://www.godlivesandloves.tumbler.com/page/7

I found this devotional so comforting, especially right now. I’m tired. Physically and emotionally. But my spirit is soaring. And that’s because I know that I’m not alone. That no matter what the world brings, as long as I’m with Him, I will soar on wings like eagles.

Do you know that? That you’re never alone? That He’s always there with you? Ready to hold you through the night? He is. Always.

You are blessed,

Sarah

———
Today’s devo selection:

Are You Tired Lately?
By Tiffany @ www.teawithtiffany.com/

I’ve noticed a disturbing trend recently.

Everyone I talk to is tired. Tired of daily stress. Tired of busyness. Tired of summer heat. Tired of financial or health problems. Tired of praying. Tired of their loved ones. And tired of even trying.

Last week, my college-aged son and his two friends were in a ugly car wreck. Their lives were spared by only a second or two. Wow, as a mom that was hard to see. Thank God, they are not hurt. Anyway as I stood nearby the accident, one of the moms said, “I’m just so tired,” And as tears fell from her eyes, she repeated, “I’m just so tired.”

I understand because I’m tired too.

Lately I’ve thought things like, why bother and who cares. I’ve even considered about giving up on my dreams and running away from my responsibilities. You name it, I’ve thought it. I know this isn’t faith-filled thinking. More like destruction waiting to happen.

So how can we keep the faith when we are beyond tired, when weariness hits hard?

I think I found a clue as I reread a chapter in Isaiah. It’s chapter 4o, which is subtitled, “Comfort for God’s People.”

Who doesn’t need a little more comfort these days?

I know I do.

I won’t post the whole chapter here, but I will share the last several verses for your encouragement.

28 Do you not know?
Have you not heard?
The Lord is the everlasting God,
the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He will not grow tired or weary,
and his understanding no one can fathom.
29 He gives strength to the weary
and increases the power of the weak.
30 Even youths grow tired and weary,
and young men stumble and fall;
31 but those who hope in the Lord
will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faint.

Did you notice our God never grows tired or weary?

What comfort.

These verses also remind me that I cannot find new strength on my own or in anything. But I can renew my strength by hoping again. And not just any hope, but hope in the Lord. What a relief because hoping in Tiffany isn’t working.

Feeling hopeless is dangerous territory.

So today I’m focused on hope again.

Everlasting God, I’m comforted by reading that You never tire or grow weary. Please renew my strength as I once again place my hope in You. In the powerful name of Jesus I pray, Amen.

Thankful and feeling a little less tired,
Tiffany from Tea with Tiffany

6 responses to this post.

  1. Such a great devotional! I’m praying for you

    Reply

  2. Oh! Sarah, this one was a REALLY good one! I honestly needed to read that today. I know the tiredness Tiffany is talking about. I feel it right now. O’ but thank you for the renewing reminder that I can hope again, and my strength can be renewed as it has been renewed so many times before by our faithful God. SO grateful for you!!

    Reply

    • Glad I’m not the only one in this season! I think a little vacation to somewhere tropical and quiet would do the trick! Along with a miraculous full and quick recovery for my brother! Praying you find a new sense of energy and joy today!

      Reply

  3. So good! I’ve definitely been in that place before where I am beyond exhausted and I lose all motivation for life not because I’m discouraged but because I’m just plain tired, and every time I turn to God He renews me and gives me brand new energy to keep on walking strong with Him. I’m so glad I have someone who never gets tired and is there to refresh me when I need it. Great post! May He refresh and renew you today! 🙂

    Reply

Thoughts? I'd love to hear them. :)

Sailing On Dry Land

Seriously Offgrid on a Shoestring

infinite photography

by michael quintana

The World Can Wait

Musings on life, faith, love, family, Chronic Lyme disease and everything in between.

Betty's Verse Of The DAY

Into His Arms I Fall

Obedience to God

Is Better than Sacrifice

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

live the victory

tackling daily challenges and laughing about the small stuff

Grace of the Cross

Just a twentysomething guy who is a follower of Christ

Phillybookpick's Blog

GREAT BOOK PICKS -In the World of page turning thrillers !

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

adjustedsails

You Can't Direct the Wind, But You Can Adjust Your Sails

Sweet Tea & God's Graces

Just a glimpse of my crazy, messy, awful, beautiful life.

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

God's Wisdom Lent To An Unorganized Mind

Wisdom, reflections, growth - all from God with me as the instrument.

Graphically Speaking... Thoughts

Inspiring and Encouraging Words For Life

Awakening Hearts Foundation

A journey toward starting a nonprofit dedicated to helping first time families

Smile Side Up ^^

Who has time to frown when there are a million reasons to smile....

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

JacobAirey.Blog

Welcome to my independent blog. I cover all kinds of topics including: faith, politics, pop culture, and so much more.

