Goals..Man’s Best Friend?

20130528-091548.jpg

We were making flowers – like the ones you see in the picture – last night for our friend’s graduation party. Let me just say, it’s not as easy as you may think!

Ok, it’s easy. Kindergarteners could do it.

But an adult hellbent on perfection (me)? Not so much. I threw mini fits, threatened to never do it again, you name it, I did/said it. Sometimes it’s hard to tell me from the toddlers! Ha!

Anyway, I didn’t end up quitting. And with each one I finished, they started improving (as did my attitude). They still didn’t look like my imagination said they should. But, they were nice!

I want to encourage you today to not give up on reaching your goals, no matter how big or small they are. For some of you, it may be making your bed. For others, it may be climbing Mt. Everest. Either way, just keep moving! You’ll get there eventually, if you refuse to give up.

You will most likely go through different stages of maturity as you reach your goal, much like I did. It’s not always easy to stay focused when things keep going wrong. But if we choose to keep our focus on Him, instead of the “impossible”, things will start to fall into place. Obviously, I have not perfected this, but I’m always working on it!

Here are two verses that I find comforting, and motivating!

Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.
– Philippians 3:13-14

We all know that when there’s a race, all the runners bolt for the finish line, but only one will take the prize. When you run, run for the prize! Athletes in training are very strict with themselves, exercising self-control over desires, and for what? For a wreath that soon withers or is crushed or simply forgotten. That is not our race. We run for the crown that we will wear for eternity. So I don’t run aimlessly. I don’t let my eyes drift off the finish line. When I box, I don’t throw punches in the air. I discipline my body and make it my slave so that after all this, after I have brought the gospel to others, I will still be qualified to win the prize.
– 1 Corinthians 9:24-27

I will be praying for you all this week as you continue the journey of reaching your goals!

On a side note, would you all be lifting my brother, Matt, up in prayer? He’s been battling sickness after sickness, and now a virus that’s got him throwing up constantly. He’s been to the doctor twice with this latest virus, the ER is the next step should things not improve. He is really in need of a breakthrough. We know that one touch from the Father can make every symptom and sickness vanish. So we are believing for that today, and for a brand new immune system! He’s got a baby, and his wife is pregnant. So we are also believing for this sickness not to spread to the rest of the family. Thanks, friends!

Blessings,

Sarah

6 responses to this post.

  1. So sorry to hear your brother is suffering. Praying for God’s mercy, comfort and healing, and that His purposes would be accomplished for His glory and Matt’s good. Praying, too, for protection for his family.

    Reply

  2. Praying with your family Sarah! God is able. We look to Him. (“It’s not always easy to stay focused when things keep going wrong”). Isn’t that so true? I can relate in more ways than one. Praying for Matt and the family! God’s best to you today and always…

    Reply

  3. Posted by inspireddaybyday on May 28, 2013 at 9:42 pm

    Really praying for your brother dear. So sorry to hear of his being unwell.
    Kimmy

    Reply

Thoughts? I'd love to hear them. :)

Sailing On Dry Land

Seriously Offgrid on a Shoestring

infinite photography

by michael quintana

The World Can Wait

Musings on life, faith, love, family, Chronic Lyme disease and everything in between.

Betty's Verse Of The DAY

Into His Arms I Fall

Obedience to God

Is Better than Sacrifice

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

live the victory

tackling daily challenges and laughing about the small stuff

Grace of the Cross

Just a twentysomething guy who is a follower of Christ

Phillybookpick's Blog

GREAT BOOK PICKS -In the World of page turning thrillers !

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

adjustedsails

You Can't Direct the Wind, But You Can Adjust Your Sails

Sweet Tea & God's Graces

Just a glimpse of my crazy, messy, awful, beautiful life.

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

God's Wisdom Lent To An Unorganized Mind

Wisdom, reflections, growth - all from God with me as the instrument.

Graphically Speaking... Thoughts

Inspiring and Encouraging Words For Life

Awakening Hearts Foundation

A journey toward starting a nonprofit dedicated to helping first time families

Smile Side Up ^^

Who has time to frown when there are a million reasons to smile....

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

JacobAirey.Blog

Welcome to my independent blog. I cover all kinds of topics including: faith, politics, pop culture, and so much more.

