I’m a Coffee Bean by Choice

20130522-222926.jpg

Obstacles. Problems. Barriers. Hard choices. Life is full of them.

I want to encourage you today to turn the problems facing you into opportunities for victory. It’s a simple lesson in perspective. A choice. Yes: I will pursue victory. Or, No: I will let this problem overtake me.

It is my hope that when you’re presented with these choices, you will choose to say, “Yes! I will pursue victory! I will make the best of this situation!”

Enjoy today’s devotional story (below), I found it very inspiring!

Blessings,

Sarah

Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us.
– Romans 8:37 NIV

————-

The Carrot, the Egg, and the Coffee Bean
By: Anonymous

A young woman went to her mother and told her about her life and how things were so hard for her. She did not know how she was going to make it and wanted to give up. She was tired of fighting and struggling.

It seemed that, as one problem was solved, a new one arose. Her mother took her to the kitchen. She filled three pots with water and placed each on a high fire. Soon the pots came to a boil. In the first, she placed carrots, in the second she placed eggs, and in the last she placed ground coffee beans.

She let them sit and boil, without saying a word. In about twenty minutes, she turned off the burners. She fished the carrots out and placed them in a bowl. She pulled the eggs out and placed them in a bowl. Then she ladled the coffee out and placed it in a bowl. Turning to her daughter, she asked, “Tell me, what do you see?”

“Carrots, eggs, and coffee,” the young woman replied. The mother brought her closer and asked her to feel the carrots. She did and noted that they were soft. She then asked her to take an egg and break it. After pulling off the shell, she observed the hard-boiled egg. Finally, she asked her to sip the coffee. The daughter smiled as she tasted its rich aroma. The daughter then asked, “What does it mean, mother?”

Her mother explained that each of these objects had faced the same adversity – boiling water – but each reacted differently. The carrot went in strong, hard and unrelenting. However, after being subjected to the boiling water, it softened and became weak.

The egg had been fragile. Its thin outer shell had protected its liquid interior. But, after sitting through the boiling water, its inside became hardened! The ground coffee beans were unique, however. After they were in the boiling water, they had changed the water.

“Which are you?” the mother asked her daughter. “When adversity knocks on your door, how do you respond? Are you a carrot, an egg, or a coffee bean?” Think of this: Which am I? Am I the carrot that seems strong but, with pain and adversity, do I wilt and become soft and lose my strength? Am I the egg that starts with a malleable heart, but changes with the heat? Did I have a fluid spirit but, after a death, a breakup, or a financial hardship, does my shell look the same, but on the inside am I bitter and tough with a stiff spirit and a hardened heart? Or am I like the coffee bean? The bean actually changes the hot water, the very circumstance that brings the pain. When the water gets hot, it releases the fragrance and flavour.

If you are like the bean, when things are at their worst, you get better and change the situation around you. When the hours are the darkest and trials are their greatest, do you elevate to another level? How do you handle adversity? Are you a carrot, an egg, or a coffee bean?

19 responses to this post.

  1. Wow! This is great (and as always very needed!), thank you posing 🙂

    Reply

  2. Hmm want to be the coffee but have never acquired a taste for it no matter how you frappe, cream, sugar it (lo)

    Reply

  3. I love it, I pray my life is coffee beans.

    Reply

  4. Reblogged this on One Woman Delivered and commented:
    I really appreciate this blog, I know some of my friends will to.

    Reply

  5. What a great way of looking at problems in life. Thanks for sharing this! 🙂

    Reply

  6. This is an excellent object lesson. Thank you so much for sharing!

    Reply

  7. This story was shared when I graduated from College; only the speaker used “tea” instead of coffee. He then had a box of tea bags that he threw in the direction of the graduates once he was done–it landed right in my lap! I felt the message was (mostly intended for me) 🙂 so thank you for the reminder. Trials have come–I’d hate to be hardened or weakened by them.

    On another note, I LOVE what you’ve done with the new template. Beautiful green!!

    Reply

    • Oh that’s so cool! I’m glad the story has made it’s way back around to you!

      The template..thanks! I figured it was fitting..a blog on growth having some grass growing on it! Haha I’m too cheap to pay for a template just yet. I’m glad you like this one! 🙂

      Reply

      • Nice! I don’t blame you. Why pay if what you have is working just fine? The green really, really relaxes the eyes. It’s easy to read everything… also, now that I see where you are going 🙂 I love it even more!

        Keep up the great work! I always start @ your blog when I have time to read. I love it!

      • Really? My blog first? Now that’s a compliment, especially coming from you! Thanks so much. ((Hugs))

  8. Absolutely! Without question 🙂

    Reply

Thoughts? I'd love to hear them. :)

Sailing On Dry Land

Seriously Offgrid on a Shoestring

infinite photography

by michael quintana

The World Can Wait

Musings on life, faith, love, family, Chronic Lyme disease and everything in between.

Betty's Verse Of The DAY

Into His Arms I Fall

Obedience to God

Is Better than Sacrifice

Prayers and Promises

Rebuilding Lives - One Hope at a Time

live the victory

tackling daily challenges and laughing about the small stuff

Grace of the Cross

Just a twentysomething guy who is a follower of Christ

Phillybookpick's Blog

GREAT BOOK PICKS -In the World of page turning thrillers !

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

adjustedsails

You Can't Direct the Wind, But You Can Adjust Your Sails

Sweet Tea & God's Graces

Just a glimpse of my crazy, messy, awful, beautiful life.

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

God's Wisdom Lent To An Unorganized Mind

Wisdom, reflections, growth - all from God with me as the instrument.

Graphically Speaking... Thoughts

Inspiring and Encouraging Words For Life

Awakening Hearts Foundation

A journey toward starting a nonprofit dedicated to helping first time families

Smile Side Up ^^

Who has time to frown when there are a million reasons to smile....

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

JacobAirey.Blog

Welcome to my independent blog. I cover all kinds of topics including: faith, politics, pop culture, and so much more.

