One Step Away

20130404-223848.jpg

When we let go of ourselves and grab hold of Him we can get through anything. We are never alone, He’s just one step away. Will you take that step into His arms today? Or are you determined to survive on your own?

Live the blessing,

Sarah

——-

Devotion: The Gain From the Loss, Finding Blessings From The Journey of Illness
By Lisa Buffalo

“Whom have I in heaven but you? And earth has nothing I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever” (Psalm 73:25-26).

In the late 90′s, I stayed active, moving, running, and playing. There was so much to do, so many places to go, people to see, fun things to accomplish.

Then illness hit, and life stopped.

Too weak and ill to move, I was relegated to the bed or recliner. Even watching television or reading was too taxing. The things that once gave confidence–my strength and my abilities, slipped from my feeble fingers. I could do… nothing.

And yet in the stillness, in the complete stop of life, I found abundance. Through illness, I gained far more than I could imagine. Getting “me” out of the way, resulted in a closer walk and deeper faith in God. During the quiet journey, God blessed me with internal healing as I faced things long hidden in my past. New friendships were formed, and new opportunities opened for writing and speaking to share God’s goodness. What I had lost was found in new God-given gains.

God became the source for strength and unending abilities. I went from self-confidence to God confidence. And in His confidence, whether running, walking, or crawling, our God is able to do exceedingly, abundantly more than we can ask or imagine.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, help me not to focus on what illness has taken, but on what You have given. Help me to let go of what holds me to the earth, so I may fly free with You. Help me to hold onto nothing but You, because with You all things are possible.

2 responses to this post.

  1. We can never survive on our own we need Jesus…

    Reply

Thoughts? I'd love to hear them. :)

Sailing On Dry Land

Seriously Offgrid on a Shoestring

infinite photography

by michael quintana

The World Can Wait

Musings on life, faith, love, family, Chronic Lyme disease and everything in between.

Betty's Verse Of The DAY

Into His Arms I Fall

Obedience to God

Is Better than Sacrifice

Prayers and Promises

Rebuilding Lives - One Hope at a Time

live the victory

tackling daily challenges and laughing about the small stuff

Grace of the Cross

Just a twentysomething guy who is a follower of Christ

Phillybookpick's Blog

GREAT BOOK PICKS -In the World of page turning thrillers !

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

adjustedsails

You Can't Direct the Wind, But You Can Adjust Your Sails

Sweet Tea & God's Graces

Just a glimpse of my crazy, messy, awful, beautiful life.

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

God's Wisdom Lent To An Unorganized Mind

Wisdom, reflections, growth - all from God with me as the instrument.

Graphically Speaking... Thoughts

Inspiring and Encouraging Words For Life

Awakening Hearts Foundation

A journey toward starting a nonprofit dedicated to helping first time families

Smile Side Up ^^

Who has time to frown when there are a million reasons to smile....

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

JacobAirey.Blog

Welcome to my independent blog. I cover all kinds of topics including: faith, politics, pop culture, and so much more.

