Stress..It’s Enough Already.

20130320-221016.jpg

It’s been a stressful week! My walk hasn’t quite met up with my talk. Do you ever go through that? Where the more you try to be positive, the worse you get? I’m thinking I’m not alone in this because, I’ve found scripture to back it up. That tells me my issue isn’t new on the scene!

Romans 7: 15 – I don’t really understand myself, for I want to do what is right, but I don’t do it. Instead, I do what I hate.

Well, there’s also another scripture that works for my situation, and it says:

Romans 8:1 – So now there is no condemnation for those who belong to Christ Jesus.

Because of that scripture, I know that when I fail, and my attitude sucks, I am not to allow condemnation to seep into my veins, poisoning my being. Instead, I need to turn away from that attitude, choose joy, and walk in the freedom I’ve been given. Easier said than done? Sometimes, yes. But if it were easy, there would be no growth to be had. And I want to grow!

Another great scripture:

Lamentations 3:22-23 – It is because of the Lord’s mercy and loving-kindness that we are not consumed, because His [tender] compassions fail not. They are new every morning; great and abundant is Your stability and faithfulness.

So yesterday’s stress and failures are just that, yesterday’s. I will not allow them to poison my today. Today comes with fresh grace and mercy. I plan on immersing myself in it! You should do the same. 🙂

As you will see in the devo selection below, Jesus’ life is the perfect example of how to handle stress. Here’s to being more and more like Him every day.

Blessings,

Sarah

——

Today’s devo selection:

Dealing with Stress Like Jesus
Written by Patty Wysong

There is just no getting around stress, regardless of the time of life we’re in. We may think things will be easier at some point, but we only trade one stress for another. It’s never ending, but we have a great God who understands us!

How can we know that God understands us? Just look at Mark 3:5-22. Jesus had so many people following Him, and so many needing things from Him that He called for a small boat to keep from being crushed.

Have you felt like you were being crushed?

Everyone wanted a piece of Jesus, a touch of Jesus. Things were so crazy that He couldn’t even eat a meal. Sound familiar?

But that’s not all. Not only was He under crushing pressure from the people all around Him, but the church leaders had turned against Him. They were ready to do Him harm. Jesus knew well the pressure and stress that came from the religious sector—the church.

Multiply that by the stress Jesus must have felt because His family didn’t believe Him and they certainly didn’t support Him—they thought He was crazy. Family pressure magnifies everything—and Jesus was no stranger to it. You know the feeling, don’t you?

Jesus had a to-do list like no one else. His included dying on the cross for me and bearing the wrath of God. For me. Talk about a weight to carry. So much more than I could ever bear!

We’re told to ask “What would Jesus do?” and this is one of those times when we can see what He did and how He handled all the stress in His life.

Jesus had a place of solitude.

After bidding them farewell, He left for the mountain to pray. ~Mark 6:46

The pressures of life have a way of bringing us down, but we can choose to go up and spend time with God in solitude with Him. We have somewhere we can go! The next time you feel like you’re not enough and don’t have enough, go up to the cross, go to God.

Jesus had a place to pray.

It was at this time that He went off to the mountain to pray, and He spent the whole night in prayer to God. ~Luke 6:12

In Jesus’ life, days of power followed nights of prayer. The same can be true in our lives. He went to a solitary place to pray. Relieve stress and handle pressure with prayer.

Jesus had people to share His load.

And He appointed twelve, so that they would be with Him and that He could send them out to preach, and to have authority to cast out the demons. ~Luke 3:14-15.

Jesus shared the burdens, and so can we. His chosen men came alongside Him in prayer and care and they shared His load. Carefully choose a few to share your burdens with so you can lift each other up in prayer. When we try to do it all by ourselves we set ourselves up to fall apart. It’s much better to “come apart” to God than to fall apart.

So when the stress is rising like a flash flood, remember how Jesus handled all the stress in His life. He had a place of solitude—a place of prayer—where He met with God the Father. He also had people who prayed with Him and for Him and helped Him shoulder His load that way.

*Sermon notes from a recent message by Pastor Mike Cash.
*All Scripture quoted from NASB.

2 responses to this post.

  1. “Jesus had a place of solitude. After bidding them farewell, He left for the mountain to pray.” Sarah, what a good reminder–speaks tons to me. I know what it means to feel “crushed” and spread so thin. Not enough of me to go around. I LOVE those 2 lines. That’s how I refuel. thank you

    Reply

    • I’m glad this held deep meaning for you as well. I’m leaning heavily upon its wisdom today (and looking so forward to bedtime)! 🙂

      Be blessed!

      Reply

Thoughts? I'd love to hear them. :)

Sailing On Dry Land

Seriously Offgrid on a Shoestring

infinite photography

by michael quintana

The World Can Wait

Musings on life, faith, love, family, Chronic Lyme disease and everything in between.

Betty's Verse Of The DAY

Into His Arms I Fall

Obedience to God

Is Better than Sacrifice

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

live the victory

tackling daily challenges and laughing about the small stuff

Grace of the Cross

Just a twentysomething guy who is a follower of Christ

Phillybookpick's Blog

GREAT BOOK PICKS -In the World of page turning thrillers !

summer

I really like Ryan Gosling.

adjustedsails

You Can't Direct the Wind, But You Can Adjust Your Sails

Sweet Tea & God's Graces

Just a glimpse of my crazy, messy, awful, beautiful life.

Karina's Thought

Encouraging and inspiring through God's word

God's Wisdom Lent To An Unorganized Mind

Wisdom, reflections, growth - all from God with me as the instrument.

Graphically Speaking... Thoughts

Inspiring and Encouraging Words For Life

Awakening Hearts Foundation

A journey toward starting a nonprofit dedicated to helping first time families

Smile Side Up ^^

Who has time to frown when there are a million reasons to smile....

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

JacobAirey.Blog

Welcome to my independent blog. I cover all kinds of topics including: faith, politics, pop culture, and so much more.

